Bowling World Newspaper

12 www.bowlingworld.com - Dec/Jan 2018 Russ Oviatt Wins PBA Aquimo Open By Gary Mage Mesa, Ariz., (September 10, 2017) – Amateur Russ Oviatt defeated Jakob Butturff, 250-239, in a battle of Tempe, Ariz., bowlers to win the Professional Bowlers Association West Aquimo Open presented by Columbia 300 at Mesa East Bowl Sunday. Oviatt, who earned $2,500 for his win, d does not receive credit as a regional champion because he isn‘t a PBA member. He defeated Josh Blanchard of Mesa, 212-187, to set up the title match after Blanchard defeated Ronnie Russell of Grants Marion, Ind., 184-156, in the opening match of the stepladder finals. Butturff earned $1,700 for second place, Blanchard won $1,400 for third, Russell $1,200 for fourth place. PBA Aquimo Open presented by Columbia 300 Mesa East Bowl, Mesa, Ariz., Sunday Final Standings: 1, n-Russ Oviatt, Tempe, Ariz., $2,500. 2, Jakob Butturff, Tempe, Ariz., $1,700. 3, Josh Blanchard, Mesa, Ariz., $1,400. 4, Ronnie Russell, Marion, Ind., $1,200. Stepladder Results: Match One – Blanchard def. Russell, 184-156. Semifinal Match – Oviatt def. Blanchard, 212-187. Championship – Oviatt def. Butturff, 215-203. n-denotes non-member 2018 Go Bowling! PBA Tour Schedule through April More dates and locations to be announced soon. Friday, January 26, 2018 - Sunday, January 28, 2018 DHC Japan Invitational , Tokyo, Japan Monday, February 05, 2018 - Sunday, February 11, 2018 PBA Tournament of Champions , Fairlawn, OH Tuesday, February 13, 2018 - Sunday, February 18, 2018 Go Bowling! PBA 60th Anniversary Classic , Indianapolis, IN Monday, February 19, 2018 - Sunday, February 25, 2018 Barbasol PBA Players Championship , Columbus, OH Monday, February 19, 2018 - Sunday, February 25, 2018 Mark Roth/Marshall Holman PBA Doubles Championship presented by BowlerX.com , Columbus, OH Sunday, April 08, 2018 - Sunday, April 15, 2018 USBC Masters , Syracuse, NY Monday, April 16, 2018 - Thursday, April 19, 2018 PBA Xtra Frame Maine Shootout , Portland, ME Thursday, April 19, 2018 - Sunday, April 22, 2018 PBA League , Portland, ME

RkJQdWJsaXNoZXIy NTEwMjI=